The HubSpot integration is available as an add-on to all subscriptions.
The HubSpot integration allows you to link organization and contact records in GivingData with company and contact records in HubSpot. These records can be updated when edits are made in both HubSpot and GivingData, or the data can flow from one system to the other.
The checklist below serves as a high-level overview of the integration set-up phases. The phases labeled "Client Instructions" contain the items to check off before moving forward, as well as linked articles with detailed instructions and steps for each phase.
The phases labeled "GivingData Instructions" are provided for your context. The steps in those phases are completed by GivingData staff. Reach out to your GivingData contact if you have specific questions about any of those phases, as you will not have access to open the linked resources.
Phase 1: Client Instructions
In this phase, you will decide on the data points that will be synced between GivingData and HubSpot for each record type and when the data will be synced. You will also decide which administrator user in GivingData and HubSpot will be used to authenticate into the integration.
HubSpot Integration Fields provides a suggested data mapping of data points to sync between the two systems, along with suggested data flows.
Data Mappings – These are the fields that will be synced between GivingData and Hubspot. HubSpot custom fields and GivingData custom fields can be included in the data mapping, but will not be included in the suggested data mapping because they are unique to your site. Data points that will sync in each system need to be compatible by data type. For example, a currency field cannot be mapped to a date field.
Data Flows – These are the flow of data between GivingData and HubSpot. Choose from the following: a bidirectional flow of data, or a one-directional flow of data from GivingData to HubSpot or from HubSpot to GivingData. Select the flow of data that aligns with your foundation’s needs.
✅ Provide the following information to your GivingData contact:
-
Name of administrator user in GivingData to be used to authenticate into the integration.
- To authenticate into the integration, a username and password for HubSpot is required. Be prepared to meet with your GivingData contact via video call and have these details available for a smooth login.
- Finalized Data Mappings
- Data Flow Direction Selection
- List of HubSpot company IDs and corresponding GivingData organization IDs
- List of HubSpot contact IDs and corresponding GivingData contact IDs
Phase 2: GivingData Instructions
This phase is completed by your GivingData contact.
Complete the steps outlined in HubSpot Integration Setup: Internal Guide. Main steps for this phase include:
✅ Update User Permissions to enable API access.
✅ Enable the HubSpot Integration in Client & Feature Configuration for the Client’s site.
✅ Import HubSpot IDs into GivingData.
Phase 3: Client and GivingData Instructions
In this phase, you will meet with your GivingData contact via a video call to authenticate into the HubSpot integration and configure the integration settings together.
Main steps for this phase include:
✅ In Admin Tools & Settings, click Integrations in the System & Setup section, and then click the HubSpot Integration.
- If the integration does not display, refresh the page.
✅ The client will input their HubSpot login credentials.
- HubSpot users often have multi-factor authentication or single sign-on set up. The client can navigate directly to this page under System & Setup and input their own credentials.
✅ Input the configuration settings. Changes are automatically saved.
- Api Key - Copied from the administrator user’s profile.
- ApiUrl - https://cxteam.givingdata.com/api (update to be client’s URL)
- Organization and Contact Field Mappings
-
Enable data flows
- ⚠️ If no data flows are enabled, data will not be passed back and forth between the systems.
If the integration needs to be disconnected, use the disconnect button at the bottom of this modal. This will log the user out of the integration.